Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council



m2 To the vision

About this organisation

The Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council (EMRC) is a progressive and innovative regional local government authority working on behalf of six member councils located in Perth's eastern region; Town of Bassendean, City of Bayswater, City of Belmont, Shire of Kalamunda, Shire of Mundaring and the City of Swan. EMRC provides services in waste management, environmental management and regional development. EMRC is a model of successful collaboration that has initiated projects that deliver real benefits to the region.

Why we support the vision

Through the EMRC’s Future Proofing Program and Regional Climate Change Adaptation Action Plan, EMRC supports the 202020 Vision. EMRC has identified urban heat island and retention of tree canopy as high priority areas that need not only local government focus but also involvement from all levels of government, research institutions, developers and other key stakeholders. EMRC is proud to support 202020 Vision and the research and collaborative efforts of other members to try to overcome this complex issue.